Sawbuck Table Part 6

The top is flattened using a hand plane.  This short sentence represents a lot of work; a commercial cabinet shop would run the top through a huge drum sander.  My advantage is I can listen to bluegrass (Ricky Skaggs) while I work.

IMG_2316

I ebonized the legs using a concoction of vinegar and steel wool.  To deepen the color I added two coats of ebony oil stain.

IMG_2322

Even though I was careful to test my finishing process on scrap boards before finished the top, I still had major problems with streaking.  The problem was the tinted shellac, it was drying too fast in the hot summertime temps.  Lesson learned, don’t try to use shellac on large tops in hot temps.

IMG_2321

I planed off the finish and tried again.  Sometimes you have to eat humble pie.

IMG_2337

IMG_2338

After several practice runs on scrap pieces, I was finally able to get a good finish on the top.

IMG_2346

I don’t normally like using much color in my finishes, but I have to admit the effect is pleasing to the eye.

IMG_2340

IMG_2355

IMG_2349

The finish dried glossier than I anticipated so I dulled it by rubbing it down with 600 grit sandpaper (I forgot to get pictures afterward).

Leave a Reply

