Two bowls

I like turning natural edge bowls out of green wood; it is a nice change from flat work since you have a finished product in hours instead of days.  I even sand and apply lacquer an hour or two after I finish turning it.  I don’t see a need to let it dry completely out before finishing (I’m sure I’m breaking someone’s rule, but it works for me).  The bowls distort somewhat after a week or two.

The wood is cherry cut from a local downed tree.  There are plenty of  excuses to use a chainsaw when you are a turner!

Leave a Reply

