Stickley No. 634 Table Build: Part 2

I started the bent laminations to form the table aprons.  This technique is a first for me, but I didn’t find it too hard.  Like most techniques in woodworking, it comes down to careful preperation and dry clanp rehersals.  By experimenting with different thicknesses, I found that 3/16″ strips bent pretty well to the 20.5″ radius of my plywood form.  I used 8 of them for each apron.

I decided to take the extra time to make clamping cauls to help spread the clamping pressure.  Maybe they aren’t necessary, but the off-cuts from the form were handy to use for cauls.  Stupidly, I almost made the curves on the cauls the same as the curve on the form, but luckily before I started cutting I realized that I had to make them the same radius as the outer radius of the apron.

img_0393

Below is how I started the clamp-up process.  I found it really helped to put temporary clamps on the ends to start establishing the curve before putting on the rest of the clamps.

img_04121

Below is a shot with all the clamps on.

img_0413

Two of the finished aprons stacked on top of each other.  I made them much longer then necessary so I could cut off the ends with the planer snipe.  An extra apron will be made this weekend so I can use it to practice cutting my tenons.

img_0411

Now I know what you are wondering; how much springback did I get?  I got a consistent 1/8″ springback on each end.  I tried two kinds of glue, Titebond Original, and the Pro-Glue you see below.  The springback was exactly the same no matter what glue I tried.   Each apron was left in the clamps about the same amount of time (overnight).   This leads me to believe that the thickness of the strips is the factor causing the springback.  I probably should have gone a bit thinner on the strips; although the little springback I got isn’t really going to affect much.

img_0409

One Response to “Stickley No. 634 Table Build: Part 2”

  1. Al Navas Says:

    Correct! The thickness of the laminations is what in the end determines how much springback you get.

    Al

Leave a Reply

