Roubo Workbench Part 2

I milled up the top sections using the jointer and planer.  It was easier then I thought; although it was quite a workout.  You can’t see it in the picture below, but I used aux. supports forward and aft of both the jointer and planer.  These were essential.  I checked my jointer fence for square before I started, and I’m glad I did.  It was off.

dscn0461

Here are the top sections after milling.

dscn0542

The next step is to glue up the top sections.  I decided not to glue them up at once; I glued just two at a time.  The picture below shows a gap in my dry fit up between two sections.  The gap was due to the clamps deforming the wood.  Allthough I was using parallel jaw clamps, SYP is fairly soft and jaws dented it

dscn0544

I was almost glad to see the dents, because that gave me an excuse to pull out my LV No. 6 plane.  It may not be the most popular plane, but I love it’s size and mass.  SYP is fun to plane.  At this point the sections were too big and ackward to joint on the powered jointer, so using the plane was my only solution.  A couple years ago (before I became proficient at hand planing) I would not have known what to do to joint the two heavy sections.  How would a power tool only woodworker do it?

dscn0548

Below is the glue up for the top.  Hand planing was required for a gap free fit, but not much.  Precise milling of each small section made a big difference in the final fit up..

dscn0549

Leave a Reply

